self-care vs selfish

April 4, 2011

I have been talking to everybody about How to Say NO: The “B” side to self care since Julie mentioned the article to me a week ago. While there are points I would tweak a bit (for example, “1.   Always say “no” first.  Do not allow “yes” to be your default answer.  It is easier to go back later and say yes, than it is to go back later and say no.” I would change this to “Always say maybe” I find that after I say “no” it is difficult to go back on) This article has been a good jumping off point when discussing making myself a priority, both emotionally and concerning time commitments.

I mostly have these discussions concerning business and the article focuses more on saying “no” to project/business commitments, but I think it lends a possible framework for interpersonal relationships as well.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

